Files, folders, search, Box AI (per MCP tool list).
Box
Box hosts a first-party, permission-aware MCP server at mcp.box.com that lets agents search and use Box content and Box AI over admin-enabled OAuth.
Concrete capability record
Data, retrieval, actions, identity, and operating limits
A field-by-field summary of what the reviewed first-party references actually support. Publisher update dates and BYO-UI review dates are shown separately below.
Search and read files and folders; Box AI queries.
Folder and file operations per Box tool list (not individually verified).
Admin must enable MCP in the Admin Console; OAuth integration credentials with scopes; MCP does not bypass Box permissions.
Admin enablement plus Box permission model.
Self-hosted community server deprecated.
First-party access
Documented surfaces
Agent access
MCP support
Support: Official MCP server
Read scope: Search, files, folders, Box AI.
Write scope: Per Box tool list; not individually verified.
Authentication: OAuth with admin-created integration credentials.
Approval boundary: Writes should require human confirmation in the client.
Confirm the current tool catalog, plan, region, scopes, rate limits, terms, and write behavior before implementation.
Editorial assessment
Access-maturity dimensions
A comparative architecture lens—not a quality score, market ranking, or buying recommendation. Scale: 1–5.
Proposed customer-shaped experiences
What customers could create on top.
The output could be an export, report, graph, artifact, application, agent, workflow, or downstream feed. These proposals are derived from documented access—not claims that Box ships them.
Single-platform patterns
No specific pattern recorded.
Use in the brief builder →Multi-platform compositions
No specific composition recorded.
Explore composition recipes →Evidence and dates
First-party references, with publisher and review dates separated
“Publisher updated” is shown only when the page exposes an update date. “BYO-UI reviewed” records when this research checked the reference. A missing publisher date is reported as missing—not replaced with the review date.
2 recorded sources
First-party Box MCP server guide.
- Publisher updated
- Not stated by publisher
- BYO-UI reviewed
- Oct 31, 2026
Content reopened and reviewed in the 2026-10-31 research refresh.
First-party product homepage.
- Publisher updated
- Not stated by publisher
- BYO-UI reviewed
- Oct 31, 2026
Content reopened and reviewed in the 2026-10-31 research refresh.
Verified fact
Tied to cited first-party evidence reviewed for this profile.
Source inventory
Official links recorded for deeper research but not necessarily reopened endpoint by endpoint.
Editorial assessment
System role, maturity interpretation, and architectural boundary.
Proposed design
Interface patterns and compositions—not vendor product claims.